Watch History: My Great-Grandfather’s Watch

ggdadI lost my great-grandfather about 13 years ago. He was preceded in death 8 years earlier by his wife, my great grand mother. I was fortunate to have both of my maternal great-grandparents around for my adolescence and throughout my teenage years. As a child of divorce, my great-grandparents were what kept us together, they were the rock that we needed survive. I don’t know where I would be, or who I would be now without them. When my great-grandfather passed away he left many things behind for me to cherish including his watch.

WP_20170623_15_35_35_RichMy great-grandfather was always a simple man. He was never one the wear a lot of jewelry or flashy items. He only ever wore his wedding ring (a simple silver band) and his watch. The watch is a Armitron Durasteel All Sport. I’m not sure of the model number, but this watch has to be at least 30 years old. It features Japanese quartz movement while offering 100 feet of water resistance.

The great thing about the watch is that I always have a piece of him to remind me that he is always with me. The bad thing is that I’ve never worn it. Part of this is due to laziness and the other part is personal style. The laziness aspect comes the fact that the watch stopped working sometime ago and I have yet to take it to get fixed. It also clashes with my personal style as the watch face is way to small for my wrist and I’m not a fan of metal bands as they never fit my wrist properly.

In many ways it’s a shame that the watch sits on a shelf, broken and unused. One day soon I am going to change that situation. Until then I still have an enduring piece of my great-grandfather to keep and to pass down to when the time comes.

20170621_223119

@websterstyle

Leave a Reply

