Women of Webster: Insights with Evette Dionne (@evettedionne)

Evette Dionne [Brown], 23, is a native of Queens, New York, but she now splits her time between Carbondale, Illinois and Aurora, Colorado. Evette is a graduate student pursuing Masters in Public Policy Reporting and Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Her writing focuses on the economics of fashion, issues surrounding obesity, pop culture, and hip-hop, and life as a millennial black woman. She is an intellectual instigator for several publications including UPTOWN, Clutch, Urban Cusp and Vibe Vixen. She is also the managing editor of Full Figured Magazine and the former editor-in-chief of BELLE, Bennett College’s award-winning student magazine.

The ‘frohemian wordsmith is a 2012 Summa Cum Laude, valedictorian graduate of Bennett College with a Bachelors of Arts in Journalism and Media Studies.

Ultimately, she aspires to be the founder and CEO of a print and digital magazine and book publishing conglomerate targeted towards African-American women, but she is also interested in fashion consulting as well as magazine editing, educating as a professor, motivational speaking and television hosting.

Evette is a lover of words, tattoos, fashion, magazines, politics, social media and afros. When she is not engulfed in her craft, Dionne loves reading her favorite websites and fashion blogs, spending time with friends and families and visiting local art galleries, aquariums, poetry slams, and amusement/water parks.

Evette Brown1. In your own words who is Evette Dionne?

Evette Dionne is a writer, editor and future businesswoman with tunnel vision. She has loads of ambition and is relentless in bringing her dreams to fruition. However, Evette Dionne is much different than Evette Brown. You know how Beyonce has Sasha Fierce? I have Evette Dionne. Evette Brown is a daughter, sister, aunt, cousin, friend, etc. who values family above all. Lots of people know Evette Dionne, but aren’t privy to Evette Brown. But both “personalities” are equally important to my overall brand because they represent the various dimensions of me.

2. What drives you to be successful?

A burning desire to fulfill my destiny definitely drives my success. It is what pushes me through all-nighters and deadlines and helps me conquer fear before I publicly speak. That need to fulfill my purpose is the driving force.

3. Finish this sentence “In five years I will be…”

Hopefully I’ll be a wife, a mother and a homeowner. I know I’ll be a successful magazine editor, a public policy analyst and possibly an adjunct professor. I’ll have the beginning stages of my publishing corporation designed and be working toward finishing my first book. In five years I’ll be 28, so I know I’ll have a lot of living to do after that. So there’s no rush to ascertain all of my dreams by then.

Evette14. What makes you smile?

Life. I have a zest for life that keeps me smiling. Being at peace with my past and my future makes me beam. My family makes me smile. I love being with my family. I don’t get to see them that often since I live in Illinois, so when we are together, I smile most of the visit. Ice cream makes me smile. Seeing my byline makes me smile. Knowing that I have a purpose keeps me smiling.

5. Do you think chivalry is dead?

Absolutely not. But I think chivalry is subjective, based on what a woman expects from a man that is courting her. I expect men to open doors, show me the respect that they would expect a man to show their mothers and really tap into who I am as a woman before making collective decisions.

6. If you could do or be anything, what would it be and why?

I am a writer and editor. But if I could be anything, it would be an astronaut or a travel writer. I want to explore the world … or the universe and both careers would provide me with opportunities to do that.

ME7. What qualities do you expect a Webster Man to have or demonstrate?

A Webster man should be ambitious, stylish, intelligent, respectful and humble. Humility is attractive.

8. What is one secret about women that you think all men should know?

All of us are different. Successful relationships are built on the ability to relate and coordinate together. If your ex-girlfriend loved chocolates for Valentine’s Day, before purchasing the new girlfriend chocolate, figure out what her interests and likes are.

To find out more about Ms. Dionne’s passions and writing, be sure to visit her at EvetteDionne.com.

@WebsterStyle




One thought on “Women of Webster: Insights with Evette Dionne (@evettedionne)

Leave a Reply

