Women of Webster: Vonetta J. Hunter

Vonetta J. Hunter is a high school health science teacher and dental hygienist. She is an avid reader, perpetual student and self-proclaimed “foodie.” Ms. Hunter’s articles have appeared in several online magazines, including Race-Talk and The Urban Times. Additionally, Ms. Hunter is the author of Natureis2blooma blog that aspires to offer commentary on local and global events that have an impact on how post-modern women live and move in the world from a womanist, humanist, and Africans-in-the-Americas perspective.

1. In your own words who is Vonetta J. Hunter?

Well, I’m an educator and dental hygienist, a womanist, a health advocate, friend, daughter, sister… Oh, yeah I’m also a bit brilliant (laughing)… in both a learned and “horse sense” kind of way.


2. What drives you to be successful?

I’m one of eight children. My parents grew up in South Carolina, part of the early WWII generation (read “Jim Crow”). Neither of them completed high school. When they migrated to the north as a very young couple, my mom became a full-time homemaker, and my dad a truck diver with two jobs. Having these examples as your family of origin creates a desire to earn what your parents struggled to obtain for you.

3. Finish this sentence “In five years I will be…”

Definitely still working with young people, teaching and/or health counseling. I also see myself doing a lot more writing, moving from occasional blogging/online article pieces to short stories, or maybe even a novel.

4. What makes you smile?

Many things. I have a wicked sense of humour…I think they call it snark nowadays. And I love to see joy in other people; their happy moments make me smile: births, weddings, awards, and graduations…all manner of good things.

5. Do you think chivalry is dead?

Absolutely not! I see meaningful examples of it everyday. Just recently went to a gas station to get air for one of my tires. There was a gentlemen there who not only insisted I go ahead of him, he proceeded to connect the air hose to my tire, and then checked the air pressure with his very own gauge. I kidded him about coming with his own gear. As he was helping me along, he was teaching me all about how to read a gauge, check pressure and pound limits on tires… it was a full tutorial (laughs).Very sweet indeed.

6. If you could do or be anything, what would it be and why?

I’d love to be a mom. I don’t have children, although I have many surrogates. I think as I age out of the window of opportunity for the “baby business”… it may be a source of regret. Fortunately, that window has not closed yet, and I believe in happy accidents.

7. What qualities do you expect a Webster Man to have or demonstrate?

I think kindness and acceptance. He should be happy within himself, be a bit self-actualized… meeting most of his life’s goals. These are the men who make the best of friends and lovers.

8. What is one secret about women that you think all men should know?

How truly susceptible we are to their guileless attention and affection towards us. It is one of the charms that very young men have over their more mature counterparts. They are shameless in their appreciation of a woman if they desire her.

Interested in learning more about Ms. Hunter? Checkout her blog Natureis2bloom or follow her on twitter @punch_vj

@websterstyle

Leave a Reply

