Women of Webster: Kellee Maize

Kellee Maize is a very dynamic and transcendent MC hailing from the city of Pittsburgh. In addition to her passion for music, she is also the founder of Nakturnal LLC, a female-owned and operated agency focused on bringing together arts and corporate communities to create a more vibrant music & entertainment scene. Known for disseminating lyrics that seek to enlighten and motivate the listener, Kellee Maize is a multi-faceted woman who consistently demonstrates that she is political, passionate, and powerful.

1. In your own words who is Kellee Maize?

I change from moment to moment, living in the present effected by the past. I am a rapper, singer, actress, and entrepreneur. I am a seeker, spiritual in nature but not really religions.

2.What drives you to be successful?

I look to make an impact, more specifically to be a positive impact on people and their lives. The feedback of those around me drives me in business and in music. Overall, I grew up in family that was hardworking. I just grew up with that mentality.

3. Finish this sentence “In five years I will be…”

Hmmmm…… wow. In five years I will be touring regularly, beginning a family, and heavily studying various healing arts.

4. What makes you smile?

Other people’s smiles. I am effected by the environment and its energy. Children always make me smile. My close friends and people around me keep me laughing as well.

5. What gave you the inspiration to become an MC?

I just became present to being an MC. At the age of 9 I heard Salt and Pepa and fell in love with hip hop. As a kid I had my own group Thunder and Lightening, and we did one song. Throughout my life I have been really driven to understand the art on MCing, but never really had a confidence to do it. In college, my poetry teacher played the song My IQ by Ani DiFranco. In the song, you could feel her passion and desire to transform. This gave me my inspiration to do it. My teacher ultimately gave me the confidence to express my poetic talents, pushed me to become an MC.

6. Do you think chivalry is dead?

No. I’m actually one of those women who has a visceral reaction if he walks and opens the door for me. That extra step isn’t needed, but at the same time I really appreciate that. I really believe that with both men and women, being caring and loving toward another person is what chivalry is. It is something that women should do as well. If you are capable of helping then help!

7. If you could do or be anything, what would it be and why?

I would seek to be the wealthiest person on the planet. I am constantly disturbed by the fact that people are starving. Its sad that a large majoring of the wealth is controlled by so few and their sight is so blurry on what they should do with that wealth. I would feed those who are hungry and dying especially the children. I would do that in one fell swoop. Hopefully it would increase pressure among the wealthiest to make more changes and give more. My selfish wish would be to have the ability to teleport and go anywhere just by thinking about it.

8. What qualities do you expect a Webster Man to have or demonstrate?

Being kind and community oriented or philanthropic. He needs to show that its not just about him and his circumstances, he needs to demonstrate an awareness of the issues and world around him. He needs to be a global thinker.

9. What is one secret about women that you think all men should know?

We as women do like to be taken care of and we want take care of you as well. Our nurturing side is very innate with women, but both have to nurture each other mentally, spiritually, and physically. Also listening is love. Listening to another person is a real way to show that you love them. So many times we spend so much time in conversations thinking about what we are going to say next instead of listening and absorbing what is being said.

Interested in learning more about Kellee Maize? Then check her out at www.kelleemaize.com or on twitter @kelleemaize

All photos courtesy of Laura Petril of MissLPhotography.com

@websterstyle

One thought on “Women of Webster: Kellee Maize

Leave a Reply

